Welcome to the End of this Blog

If you just wandered upon this blog, here is what you should know.  This is not a normal blog.  A normal blog tends to be a journal of events or ideas, someone’s travelogue, or ongoing thoughts on a subject like politics or even information regarding one’s personal area of interest, like hair styling or ones opinions about anything.   If you scroll down the side bar to your right, you’ll find examples of travel and political blogs.  And at the bottom of this post are links to more developed blogs, one about hairstyling and the other presenting the blogger’s assessments of various things, such as WordPress itself …..just to give you a sense of the diversity of “normal” blogs.

Unlike these other blogs, my “blog” is really just taking the blog format and employing it as a learning aid to help those who want to  SET UP A BASIC BLOG SITE.    In other words, my blog is a lesson plan not a journal.

mappa_blogI created this “blog” because when I wanted to set up a blog site I found the information that was supposed to help mostly confused and frustrated me.   It made about as much sense as the diagram above.

I took a workshop and that didn’t help much, either.  Too much information too soon.  I’m not the sharpest tool in the technological drawer, but as both a trainer and teacher over 30 years I have learned quite a bit about learning, and I know learning the essentials of basic WordPress is being made needlessly complicated.

The uniqueness of my approach is that WHAT YOU SEE IS WHAT YOU’LL GET.   You are looking at a basic blog site and I will show you how to create something similar.  We will begin with this “look” but later you will learn how to create a  look very different than this with a few clicks, faster than you can change your clothes.   If you are anything like me, once you have a functioning site, you will feel much more secure about further exploring the wide world of WordPress possibilities.

Oh, keep this in mind in exploring this site, that for the purposes of instruction I have intentionally put in duplicate ways of doing the same thing or left some things unfinished, i. e. this is a blog workshop and I keep working on it

If you want to learn more, go to About this Blog, to the upper  left below the photo and, if you still are interested, there is a link to my first post.

About Richard Farrell

I am old enough to collect Social Security with a varied work back ground, though most of it has been related to education or horse racing, at times the two being combined. My credentials regarding politics and economics are largely having observed the two in action over several decades. That and my knowledge of history, being a history major in college and a history buff ever since.

Posted on December 21, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Thank you for the link, Richard! I agree the best learning is by doing. Looks like you’re getting the hang of things!

Leave a Reply

